February – Stuffed Full of Peppers

It’s March 10, but I promise this meal was made in February. I’ve just been too lazy/busy to write the blog about it. This month’s choice was one of those what-do-I-already-have-in-my-fridge/pantry-because-I’m-not-leaving-the-house-today type of meals. It was a lazy Sunday (and it was awesome). We had a bag of 4 bell peppers, Zeus had already thawed out some bison meat earlier in the week, and we always have giant bags of quinoa, black beans, and cheese. So…stuffed peppers!

I didn’t use a recipe really, just looked some up to see the oven temperature (375 degrees) and cooking time (30-35 minutes, or until peppers are soft). I know the concept of stuffed peppers (literally just stuff them with meat, rice, and cheese, or whatever you want obviously), so I knew this would be easy.

The longest thing to cook for these were the black beans, because they’re dry beans (no can). The instructions say to boil them for 2 minutes then let them simmer for 2 minutes, but there is no way in hell they’re even close to being done in 4 minutes. More like 4 hours. I boil them for about 10-15 minutes usually, just depends on what else I’m doing in the kitchen. Then, I drop them down to a simmer for however long it takes for the beans to get soft. I also add onions and fresh garlic, and in this case, half a can of rotten tomatoes for some flavor. Plus lots of salt, pepper, and whatever other seasonings I feel like throwing in at the time.

When the beans were done, I started preparing everything else. First, I cut the tops off the peppers, scooped out all the seeds, and cut up the leftover usable parts of the tops. I also diced up some onions. Then, I sautéed the onions and peppers in some olive oil and garlic seasoning. At the same time, I started browning the meat (seasoned with salt, pepper, and taco seasoning) and preparing some quinoa. I also boiled the peppers for about 5 minutes. Once everything was finished cooking, I put it all in a bowl and mixed it together with some shredded Mexican cheese. Then, I scooped the mixture into each pepper. I stopped about half-way with each and added cheese, then added more of the mixture and and topped it all off with more cheese.

IMG_2355

Lastly, I put the pan of peppers into the oven for 30 minutes or so. The peppers were cooked perfectly and tasted great. The only thing I would change is more seasoning, though I’m not really sure which kind. I’ll experiment more next time.

Stuffed Southwestern Peppers

Ingredients:

  • 1 can of black beans or 1 cup of dry black beans, prepared as needed
  • 1 cup quinoa, prepared according to package directions
  • Mexican shredded cheese
  • 1lb. bison meat, browned
  • 1 medium-large onion, diced
  • 4 bell peppers, top sliced off and diced
  • 1 can of Rotel tomatoes with green chiles
  • Seasonings – garlic (fresh or powdered), sriracha (powdered), salt, pepper, red pepper flakes, taco seasoning

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  2. Slice the top off each pepper and scoop out seeds. Dice leftover pepper and onion and sauté until peppers are cooked and onions are translucent.
  3. Boil pepper “bowls” for 4-5 minutes.
  4. Cook black beans (add onions and Rotel tomatoes if desired) and quinoa according to package/can directions.
  5. Brown bison meat and drain any excess grease. Season as desired.
  6. Mix all ingredients together in a bowl and stuff into each pepper. When peppers are half full, top with cheese (if desired, but really, who doesn’t want more cheese). Fill pepper the rest of the way with the meat mixture and top with more cheese.
  7. Cook for 30-35 minutes or until peppers are soft. (They should be after 30 minutes, seeing as you’ve boiled them already.)

We had a little bit of leftover meat mixture, so we made nachos with them a couple days later. Forgot to take a picture of that master piece though, but it was fantastic.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Andrew Marco says:

    this looks amazing, I need to try these out 🙂

    I was wondering if you were on FB at all? It would be amazing if you could share your recipe in our group, would love for you to join our community of food lovers! Check us out here: https://www.facebook.com/groups/OnlyGoodEats/

    1. Jess says:

      I am on Facebook and would love to share it! Thanks!

  2. Andrew Marco says:

    awesome to have you in the community! 🙂

Leave a Reply

