December – Hashbrown Casserole for Christmas

on

So now that all our vacation posts are done, I shall return to our meals of the month and farm bags. The last time I posted about a meal was a few months ago, but we did make chili in October; I just didn’t take any pictures of it. I was 2 votes away from winning best chili in my work’s cookout contest, so it was good. I plan to make it again in the next few days, so hopefully I’ll remember to get pictures then.

November was too hectic and we didn’t really make anything new. We made a turkey with spices from our farm bag (it turned out amazing), but we’ve made a turkey before so this doesn’t count. So hopefully I can fit two in for December, though we are running out of time.

My husband and parents have made a recent tradition of cooking breakfast on Christmas morning, complemented with mimosas and Bloody Mary’s, which is followed by opening presents, watching a movie, or whatever else the day brings. For breakfast this Christmas, I decided to make hash brown casserole and biscuits. The biscuits were out of a can so we won’t talk about them. But the hashbrown casserole was homemade, and so so so easy.

Casseroles are best when you mix all the ingredients together in a bowl and then pour them in a pan, and that’s exactly what this recipe calls for. It’s a copycat of Cracker Barrel’s hashbrown casserole, which is my favorite.

Hashbrown Casserole (Cracker Barrel Copycat)

Ingredients:

  • 2 lbs frozen hashbrowns (I used garlic and herb-flavored ones)
  • 1/2 cup margarine or 1/2 cup butter, melted (went with butter for this round)
  • 1 (10 1/4 ounce) can cream of chicken soup
  • 1 pint sour cream
  • 1/2 cup onion, peeled and chopped
  • 2 cups cheddar cheese, grated (just bought a pack of shredded cheddar cheese)
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper (I eyeballed the amount of salt and pepper—turned out fine)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F and spray an 11″ x 14″ baking dish with cooking spray.
  2. Mix the above ingredients together, place in prepared pan, and bake for 45 minutes or until brown on top. (It took me about an hour before it got remotely close to browned)

Husband cut up onions. I poured all the ingredients in the bowl. The most effort I put into the entire thing was melting the butter. It was seriously so easy. And oh my goodness, it was THE BEST. I don’t know that it tasted just like Cracker Barrel’s, but it was damn good, and made even better by the fact that I didn’t have to leave my house for it. Zeus says ham would make it better, and while I don’t disagree that it would be a delicious addition, it didn’t need anything to make it better. It was perfect—cheesy, hot, flavorful, delicious, and SO EASY. That’s all I want from a casserole.

Try it out; add ham or bacon or sausage if you want. You will not regret it. Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

