August – Hamburger Helper for Adults

It’s been a busy few weeks. Hell, a busy few months. So when trying to figure out this month’s new recipe, I wanted something easy. Zeus works most weekends, so while these new recipes may be a venture we wanted to do, I’m usually the one making it, so easier is better. He helps when he can, or when he has the energy, but if I wait for a time when that is, we won’t hit our new-recipe-a-month goal. Plus, most of these lately have been spur of the moment, hey I found this recipe online and I’m going to make it!

I wasn’t exactly searching, just scrolling down Facebook when one of those video recipes popped up. One-Pot Cheesy Taco Pasta. Those are three of my favorite things (cheese, tacos, pasta), so I decided to go with it. The One-Pot adjective in front of it made it even more appealing.

One-Pot Cheesy Taco Pasta

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound ground beef (I used ground turkey – we were out of bison)
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • Pinch of black pepper
  • 1 ounce packet taco seasoning (or about 3½ tablespoons homemade taco seasoning)
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 cup jarred mild salsa
  • 8 ounces uncooked rotini pasta
  • 1½ cups shredded Mexican-style cheese
  • Optional toppings – chopped tomatoes, avocado, crushed tortilla chips, chopped cilantro

Instructions:

  1. Preheat a large deep skillet over medium heat.
  2. Add ground beef and season with salt and pepper.
  3. Cook, stirring occasionally until cooked thoroughly. Drain grease.
  4. Stir taco seasoning into ground beef then stir in water, salsa and pasta noodles.
  5. Bring mixture to a boil.
  6. Stir, cover and reduce heat to a simmer.
  7. Cook for about 15 minutes until pasta is tender.
  8. Turn off heat and stir in cheese.
  9. Season with additional salt and pepper if needed.
  10. Serve with optional toppings if desired.

I followed the ingredient list and instruction pretty closely, so there’s no adjustments to add for this one except for the meat (ground turkey vs. ground beef). I meant to buy cilantro for toppings, but I forgot. I figured there were already enough tomatoes in the salsa, so I didn’t top it with any of that either. I just added avocado, which was perfect. Cool and fresh on top of cheesy and savory. Just…yum. Zeus added even more cheese on top, because of course.

 

The Verdict: This reminded me of a Hamburger Helper recipe, but healthier. I used ground turkey and included my own spices instead of dumping whatever concoction HH had come up with, meaning less sodium but still just as tasty. It’s still not the healthiest recipe in the world, given the amount of cheese and pasta included, but I added avocado so that makes it better right? I don’t even care. This was delicious. 5 stars, will make again.

IMG_8505

 

Leave a Reply

