Roasted Acorn Squash Goodness

on

An acorn squash was one of the items in our farm bag a few weeks ago. The first one we got went bad because I didn’t know what to do with it, so this time I was determined to figure something out. I looked at a few different recipes, but the majority of them were sweet, dessert-like things that reminded me of sweet potatoes—desserts disguised as vegetables.  I’m not a fan of that concept, so I decided to go with a standard roasting option.

I cut the squash in half, scooped out all the seeds, and then cut each half into 1/4-inch thick pieces. They looked like little half moons, and they smelled like pumpkin. I’m not a fan of pumpkin things (except beer), so I wasn’t too optimistic about liking these. But I was already halfway in, so might as well get it done!

IMG_8393

I put all the pieces in a bowl and drizzled olive oil over them all and then sprinkled them with salt, pepper, and garlic, and mixed around until every piece was evenly coated. Then I laid them all out on a baking pan covered in tinfoil (I don’t like to clean things if I can avoid it).

IMG_8394

This didn’t seem like enough, so I decided to add some cheese, because cheese makes everything better. We were out of parmesan cheese, which would’ve been my go to, so instead I topped them with some mozzarella cheese.

IMG_8395

I baked the squash for about 30 minutes at 400 degrees. This made my house smell sooooooooooo good.

IMG_8397

And that’s how they came out, all gooey and cheesy. I was pleasantly surprised by the taste—not pumpkiny at all. It really tasted like all the things I put on it to be honest, with a soft squash texture, but one that is very unlike all the other squashes I’ve had. It was interesting. I was also surprised that you could eat the skins, although they were a little tough, so I ended up peeling them off of half of them. But they were good either way. I enjoyed these very much, though I think I will perhaps try one of the sweeter recipes next time.

 

Leave a Reply

