These Desserts Are Just Peachy

Over the past year or so, my dinosaur-loving friends and I have had movie nights to watch/make fun of all the installments of Jurassic Park. It’s taken this long to get through them all because we like to have other parties too, so these are jammed in-between. Each movie night, there is lots of delicious food and of course, booze. This past one, we watched Jurassic Park 3, much to my dismay (seriously, why does the CGI go back like 10 years?), and we had breakfast for dinner. There were lots of starches—biscuits and gravy, cinnamon rolls, strawberry cheesecake French toast casserole, as well as some ham and a baked egg dish with lots of yummy ingredients. I originally planned on bringing bacon, but then I got another farm bag full of peaches, so I decided to find a breakfast dish involving peaches.

I stumbled across many delicious peach breakfast recipes, but most required way more effort and time than I had. And then I found these two—Peach Pie Biscuit Bombs and Strawberry Peach Pie Bites. I’m a fan of variety, and both of these options were super simple and sounded amazingly delicious.

Strawberry Peach Pie Bites

All you need is:

  • 4 strawberries, cut into slices
  • 1 large peach (2 small), cut into wedges
  • 1 can of crescent rolls
  • 2 tbsp. butter, melted
  • 2 tbsp. sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon

I’ve made something very similar to these before, but with apples, so I knew they’d be pretty easy, and very tasty. To make the bites…

  1. Preheat the oven to 375F.
  2. Unroll and separate the dough pieces on a parchment lined baking sheet (I used tin foil, but you could also use a pan sprayed with Pam and I’m sure that would work just as well).
  3. Mix together the sugar and cinnamon. Sprinkle evenly over each piece of dough.
  4. Melt the butter and stir in the fruit pieces until evenly coated.
  5. Place 1 peach slice and 2 strawberry slices at the long end of each piece of dough.
  6. Carefully roll it up like you would a regular crescent roll, pinching the sides closed to keep the fruit inside. This part is going to be very messy, but it’s worth it.
  7. Brush any remaining butter on top of each one and sprinkle with cinnamon.
  8. Bake at 375F for 12-14 minutes or until golden brown.

This particular recipe also called for a sugary glaze, but I felt like these would be sweet enough, so I didn’t bother with it.

The verdict: These were fantastic! And so easy! Everyone at the party loved them, and they’re so easy to grab and not a whole lot of commitment to eat, so everyone had at least one. The contrast of the sweet/tart fruit flavors with the butter and cinnamon was perfect. The only thing I would do to make them better next time is to cook them a little bit longer, so the dough gets a bit more firm. I baked them for 14 minutes, but they still seemed a bit doughy.

Peach Pie Biscuit Bombs

These were my favorite of the two, and once you see the ingredients, you’ll understand why.

  • 1 package Grands Flaky Biscuits
  • 1 cup sliced fresh peaches (1″ pieces)
  • 3-4 ounces soft Brie cheese
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 tablespoon honey (optional)
  • 3 tablespoons butter

I think the only thing I actually measured out here was the butter and biscuits, and I totally forgot the honey, but that will not happen next time!

  1. Preheat the oven to 375F.
  2. Split the biscuits in half. Place 3-4 pieces of peach in the center of the bottom half of each biscuit. Add a small spoonful of the Brie (don’t limit yourself here—follow your heart). Then, sprinkle them all with brown sugar and cinnamon (I just eyeballed it, because I suck at following directions), and drizzle with a little honey (really sad I forgot the honey).
  3. Place the top back on each biscuit and gently press the edges down to lightly seal and close. Take each one in your hand and gently form into balls so the biscuit is wrapped all the way around the filling (I did not form them into a ball; just sealed each piece so they looked like normal biscuits, and they turned out just fine). Place them about 2″ apart on an ungreased baking sheet.
  4. Put the butter in a small saucepan over medium heat. Melt it and then let it snap and crackle in the pan until it smells nutty. Remove from heat and brush each biscuit with the browned butter. (I also sprinkled a little extra brown sugar on them here.)
  5. Bake for 12-15 minutes, or until the tops are golden.
  6. Brush the pie bombs with the brown butter again after baking and serve warm.
  7. If you’re not eating these for breakfast (or hell, even if you are), enjoy them with some ice cream!

These things…oh my goodness. They were just so good. So good. I never realized how much I loved Brie cheese until recently, and it combined with the peaches and brown sugar and biscuits…just delicious. I will definitely be making these again, with the honey this time!

IMG_8355

Leave a Reply

