(Baked) Fried Green Happiness

Today has been a sad day, given all that happened in Orlando last night. I just don’t understand all the hate in this world. But I was reminded of how amazing and loving the people I’ve chosen to surround myself with are every time I looked at Facebook today, which, to be honest, was as little as possible because it made me so sad. My thoughts are with all the families of those lost and affected in last night’s tragedy. I hope people learn to love more and hate less. Life is really more enjoyable with love. #prayforOrlando

Not to make light of this situation, but in order to cheer myself up, I made some good ol’ Southern comfort food. I told you I had plans for those green tomatoes that came in the farm bag a few weeks ago, and today I finally got a chance to use them. I’m sure you can guess what I made, because what else would you make? Yummy and delicious fried green tomatoes of course! I didn’t try to get creative with this one, because I’ve never made them before. But, I did search for a recipe that baked them instead of frying, because of trying to be healthy and sh*t.

I actually followed the recipe this time, believe it or not, and they turned out really good. They were perfectly crispy and flavorful, although I will say they were a little dry. I need to figure out some sort of sauce to go on them, like what you dip onion rings in or an aioli of some sort, or maybe I’ll just go buy a bottle of ranch from Mojo’s and call it a day because that stuff is the bomb.com. There are plenty of possibilities, so that’ll have to wait for next time.

Along with the tomatoes, I made a cucumber, tomato, and green bell pepper salad with Italian dressing (just chop them all up, put them in a bowl, and pour Italian dressing over it) and some baked chicken with barbecue sauce, cheese, Rotel tomatoes, and green onions. The recipe I usually use for that also has bacon bits, but I didn’t have any today. In case you want that one, it’s pretty simple…

All you need is chicken breasts (I use 3 or 4), your barbecue or sauce of choice (I’ve also used A1 before and it was fantastic), shredded cheese (whatever your preference; we usually go with a mixed Mexican cheese blend), 1 can of Rotel tomatoes, chopped green onions, and bacon bits. Spray a baking dish with cooking spray and put the chicken breasts in. Pour your sauce over the chicken and spread around evenly. Then sprinkle the cheese over the chicken. Next, top with the tomatoes, green onions, and bacon bits. Cook in 375-degree heat for about 30-45 minutes (30 if your chicken is thawed, but 40 to 45 if it was frozen). Serve immediately and enjoy! There are a lot of flavor possibilities with this chicken because you can change the sauce and the cheese, and everything we’ve tried so far has been awesome.

IMG_8218

Here it all is, on a plate with forks and sh*t. 🙂 Have a happy Sunday everyone!

IMG_8222

Leave a Reply

