When in Roma, Add Tomatoes

I wish I was in Roma, as this title suggests, but alas, I am in my kitchen and it’s finally dinner time. It’s really late I know, but we’ve been working around the house all day. Zeus worked on the deck. I cleaned the house, brushed Yoda for about 30 minutes and almost made another animal, and made dinner (we’ll get to that in a second). And Pegasus… I’ll let you see what he did all day.

IMG_8211

I’m finally using one of the recipes provided in this week’s Local Fare newsletter—Roma Beans with Tomatoes. I’ve never cooked Roma beans before, and seeing as I already had all the ingredients on the list, their recipe seemed like the way to go. I adjusted it for our personal preferences of course 😉

Roma Beans with Tomatoes

Here’s what the recipe called for: 

  • 1-2 tbsp. olive oil
  • 3 green onions, white portion only thinly sliced
  • 1 can (14 oz.) plum tomatoes, coarsely chopped with juices
  • 1/2 tsp. crushed red pepper flake
  • 1 standard portion roma beans, ends trimmed salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 tbsp. freshly chopped flat leaf parsley

Here’s what I actually used:

  • Olive oil (measuring is for the birds; I eyeballed it.)
  • 1 large green onion (I got a bunch today and they were HUGE so I only used one, and I used the whole thing—green parts and all—because I’m not prejudiced)
  • Roma beans (I used about half the amount that came in the farm bag—a bowl’s worth)
  • 3 fresh Garden Gem Tomatoes from this week’s farm bag (why would I use a can when I’ve got the fresh stuff in my fridge? Not to mention they taste fantastic!)
  • 2 cloves of garlic (because no good recipe ever goes without garlic)
  • 1 small green yum yum pepper (I really wanted to use one of these because I have to know if they’re spicy like jalapeños. Plus, the more flavor the better)
  • Red pepper flakes, salt, and pepper to taste (follow your heart and use as much as you want)

Directions:

  1. In a saucepan large enough to hold the beans, warm the olive oil over medium-low heat. Add the green onions and cook, stirring, until translucent, about 8 minutes. (I did not cook them this long, and I didn’t wait for the olive oil to warm up first either. I don’t really follow directions well. I know; it’s a problem.)
  2. Add the tomatoes and red pepper flakes, increase the heat to medium and simmer, stirring occasionally, until the tomatoes reduce slightly, about 10 minutes. Stir in the beans and season with salt and a few grinds of pepper. (I probably cooked the tomatoes for about 4 minutes before adding in the beans, because I saw how long they would take to cook -next step- and figured I’d expedite the process.)
  3. Reduce the heat to low, cover and cook until the beans are very tender, about 30 minutes. Check frequently and add 2 tbsp. hot water if the sauce looks dry. (I didn’t read the part about moving to low heat, but I did follow the other steps! Well, I did not add any water, so maybe not. The tomatoes might’ve burned a bit; don’t judge me. Also, I might’ve cooked the beans for a total of 15 minutes, maybe 20.)
  4. Transfer the beans to a warmed serving dish and sprinkle with the parsley. Serve immediately. (I forgot to add parsley; I didn’t have the fresh stuff anyway. Oh well.)

In addition to this new side dish, I boiled the last of the corn on the cob and steamed the remaining patty pan squash from 2 farm bags ago (stuff held up). As for the meat, we kept it simple with some grilled pork chops marinated in A1 and seasoned with Montreal Steak Seasoning (not just for steak!).

The Verdict: We both loved it. There were so many delicious flavors in one bite, and it even had this sort of teriyaki taste to it. Not sure what caused that, but it was good. The whole meal itself was amazing. We sat outside on the patio and watched the fire from afar (there was a lot of wood and boxes to burn). Will definitely be making this one again, if we ever have Roma beans in the house again that is. Though the recipe could also work with green beans, or any kind of bean really.

IMG_8208

(Bye bye Amazon box)

*I started cooking and writing this at 8:30pm, and we ate around 9:30pm or so, not near midnight like the timestamp of this post would suggest.*

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

