Farm Bag Day & Mini Classic Cheesecakes

Thursday was farm bag day, I made some of my delicious cheesecakes, and I’ve been busy ever since, so today is the first time I’ve had a chance to blog about it. I was especially excited about this week’s farm bag, because it had quite a few of my favorite things:

  • Cucumbers
  • Peaches
  • Patty pan squash
  • Organic green bell peppers
  • Sweet corn on the cob
  • Green tomatoes
  • Honey wheat bread from the French Pantry

FullSizeRender.jpg

(Cantaloupe was another item in the bag, but Zeus and I are not a fan, so we swapped it out for more bell peppers.)

I’ve never tried patty pan squash, but I’ve liked most squashes so far, so I have high hopes for it. We boiled some of the corn and sautéed the green peppers for steak night on Friday. The cucumbers will probably be added to some sort of salad or just snacked on periodically. And I have some big plans for those green tomatoes… so stay tuned!

Classic Mini Cheesecakes

Last post, I said I would making cheesecake for a work function, and all week, I had been trying to figure out which type to make. I had high hopes of making something new and delicious, but then I looked at my schedule (volleyball Tuesday, kickball Wednesday, and dinner with some friends Thursday) and realized there was no time for getting crazy. So I decided to go with my classic plain cheesecake, topped with some of the fresh peaches from the farm bag.

For every potluck in recent history, whether for family or work events, I’ve brought cheesecake. It’s one of my favorite desserts—not too sweet, has the best texture, and the flavors are limitless. But my signature is that all my cheesecakes are miniature—the size of cupcakes—because I find that it’s easier, and more convenient, for people to grab something small and pre-packaged than it is to cut a piece of pie or cake. In the time it takes to cut a slice of cake, you’ve probably thought about the amount of calories you’re about to consume, how much you’ll have to work out to work it off, and whether the flavor will be worth it. Of course, it usually always is worth it, but you don’t have time to think about that with my tiny cheesecakes. You grab, unwrap, and enjoy. Guilt is saved for later, if you even feel it at all.

So, it all started with classic cheesecake. I’ve made a few different kinds since then, but I continue to try to improve my recipe on what I like to call “The Quest for the Perfect Cheesecake.” Friends, family, and coworkers all get to enjoy the fruits of this labor.

All that being said, for my work’s Memorial Day cookout, I kept it simple. Classic cheesecake with homemade whipped cream, topped with fresh peaches.

Ingredients for 36 Mini Cheesecakes:

  • Cheesecakes
    • Vanilla wafers
    • 4 8-ounce packages cream cheese (I use 1/3 less fat)
    • 1 1/2 cups white sugar
    • 4 eggs
    • 2 tsp. vanilla extract
    • 4 peaches, diced
  • Whipped Cream
    • 2 cups heavy whipping cream
    • 1 cup white sugar

IMG_8104

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. Place muffin tins into muffin pan, and add 1 vanilla wafer to each (this acts as the crust).
  3. In a mixing bowl, beat cream cheese, sugar, eggs, and vanilla until light and fluffy. Fill each muffin tin with this mixture. (I bought a pancake/cupcake batter dispenser thing a few months back that makes this process so incredibly simple. Like this one…)
  4. Cut and dice peaches.
  5. Bake for 15 minutes. Let cool.
  6. For whipped cream, beat heavy whipping cream and sugar until it is thick and fluffy—you know, the texture of whipped cream.
  7. Top each cheesecake with whipped cream and peaches.
  8. Enjoy!

These cheesecakes were fantastic. The peaches were not quite ripe, so they had that tarty sweet flavor, which complemented the cheesecakes and homemade whipped cream perfectly. And dicing them was the way to go because you get a little piece of peach in every bite. So so good.

IMG_8129.JPG

Leave a Reply

