May – A New Crockpot, a New Meal

Zeus bought me a new crockpot for my birthday, and it took me 2 months to finally use it. Now here we are, stuffed after a delicious meal that required virtually no effort. Well, the chicken anyway. The veggies took some time, but I don’t mind it.

Our #Robertsmealofthemonth for May was Beer Crockpot Chicken. Sunday, I spent the day cleaning and debating about what to cook for dinner. In between sweeping, mopping, and laundry, I sat down and scoured Pinterest for something quick and easy, and I found this one. Didn’t even have to make a trip to the store. It was around 3:00 pm and Zeus wasn’t planning on being back from work until 6:30-ish, so I had plenty of time to cook some crockpot chicken.

The recipe called for 1 can or bottled beer of choice, so I went to the fridge and stared at our beer collection, trying to find the perfect one. Abita Strawberry and Purple Haze seemed like they would make it too sweet. Busch tastes like sh*t and would completely ruin the chicken. Corona could be good, if I had some limes and wanted to accompany it with chips and dip. But I wasn’t in the mood for that. Then, I saw the Newcastle Brown Ale. Neither of us really drink that kind of beer (it’s leftover from some party or another), but it does have a lot of flavor, so I went with that one.

Now to the preparation…

You put the chicken in the crockpot, pour the beer in, add seasoning, and set it on high for 4 hours. That’s it. How amazing and easy is that?!

The recipe called for 1/2 teaspoon for each spice but most recipes don’t have enough flavor, so I just poured in a bunch of my favorite spices in the amount I thought was appropriate – salt, pepper, garlic powder, paprika, cajun blackening seasoning, and basil.

About an hour after I put the chicken on, Zeus told me our friend Jessie wanted to take us out for dinner in appreciation for a project Zeus helped him with. While I was excited to try my beer chicken, I agreed because who doesn’t love a free meal? Plus, not eating then meant I’d have leftovers for the week! We agreed to eat the chicken the next night, which is now tonight.

To go along with the chicken, I sautéed some kohlrabi, bok choy, and collard greens and steamed some yellow wax beans and broccoli (all seasoned with garlic salt and pepper). My house smells amaze-za-zing for reals. The smell of garlic being sautéed is seriously the best thing ever, which is probably why I put it in everything.

Another great meal down, and another one I can’t wait to make again. For June, or maybe even a bonus May meal, I’m thinking shrimp and grits. Until next month!

All veggies are courtesy of Local Fare deliveries from last week and the week before.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Eileen says:

    Yummy Jess, lm gonna have to try it😘

Leave a Reply

